EMS OPA 2022 Instrumentation and Technique Development prize for Cathodoluminescence Excitation Spectroscopy (CLE)

Congratulations to Nadezda Varkentina, Yves Auad and co-authors who have received the EMS OPA 2022 Instrumentation and Technique Development prize for their work entitled “Cathodoluminescence excitation spectroscopy: Nanoscale imaging of excitation pathways”. It shows the interest and excitement of the electron spectroscopy and microscopy community with this new technique and with experiment using event-based direct electron detectors. For more information check the highlight on Cathodoluminescence Excitation Spectroscopy.

The European microscopy society announcement:

The Executive Board of the European Microscopy Society (EMS) has an annual EMS “Outstanding Paper Award“. The award goes to papers containing original work in the field of microscopy which will be judged on scientific merit, technical and general quality, expected impact, originality, and relevance to microscopy. Each year it is intended that one paper will be chosen in each of the categories of (i) Instrumentation and Technique Development, (ii) Materials Sciences and (iii) Life Sciences. The prize consists of 1000 (one thousand) Euro plus a plaque for the first author (per awarded paper) in each category and printed awards for all authors.

For 2022, there were in total 17 papers nominated, divided in the three categories as follows: 

Instrumentation and Technique Development: 6

Materials Sciences: 6

Life Sciences: 5

The winners of the European Microscopy Outstanding Paper Awards for papers published in 2022 are: 

Instrumentation and Technique Development:

Nadezda Varkentina*, Yves Auad*, Steffi Y. Woo, Alberto Zobelli, Laura Bocher, Jean-Denis Blazit, Xiaoyan Li, Marcel Tencé, Kenji Watanabe, Takashi Taniguchi, Odile Stéphan, Mathieu Kociak, Luiz H. G. Tizei, Cathodoluminescence excitation spectroscopy: Nanoscale imaging of excitation pathways, Science Advances 8, eabq4947, 2022.  https://www.science.org/doi/10.1126/sciadv.abq4947

*equal contribution

Life Sciences: 

Elena Macías-Sánchez, Nadezda V. Tarakina, Danail Ivanov, Stéphane Blouin, Andrea M. Berzlanovich, and Peter Fratzl, Spherulitic Crystal Growth Drives Mineral Deposition Patterns in Collagen-Based Materials, Advanced Functional Materials, 2022, 2200504. https://doi.org/10.1002/adfm.202200504

Materials Sciences:  

Mingjian Wu, Christina Harreiß, Colin Ophus, Manuel Johnson, Rainer H. Fink and Erdmann Spiecker, Seeing structural evolution of organic molecular nano-crystallites using 4D scanning confocal electron diffraction (4D-SCED) Nature Communications 13, 2911, 2022. https://doi.org/10.1038/s41467-022-30413-5

The first authors of these papers will receive a mention of their award and will present their work at the 20th International Microscopy Congress to be held on 9 to15 September, 2023 / BEXCO, Busan, Korea (https://www.imc20.kr ).